Menu ▲

The XX Announce New Single “Angels”

Words by Scenewave Australia - Published on July 17, 2012

The xx have released brand new song ‘Angels’ via their Facebook this morning. ‘Angels’ comes off forthcoming record Coexist which is out September 7th.

“It’s been a long time since we’ve played you anything new. This song is called Angels, it is the first single from our new album, Coexist. We’ve been playing this song live recently, so it feels good to share with you the version we’ve been working on for so long. We hope you like it. xx The xx”

The xx have sold out their upcoming Australian shows at The Forum Theatre in Melbourne on Wednesday 18 July 2012 and The Metro in Sydney on Friday 20 July 2012. Tickets for both intimate shows were exhausted immediately.

Coexist was produced by The xx’s Jamie Smith and was recorded between November 2011 and May 2012 in the band’s own studio in London.

Coexist is the follow-up release to The xx’s debut album xx.  Released in August 2009, xx achieved gold sales in Australia, platinum sales in the UK, and accumulated over 1.3 million sales worldwide. The album has also been awarded the highly prestigious Mercury Music PrizeThe Guardian’s First Album Award, Album of the Year by both Rough Trade Shops and XFM, and two South Bank and one NME Award nominations.

Coexist track listing:

1. Angels
2. Chained
3. Fiction
4. Try
5. Reunion
6. Sunset
7. Missing
8. Tides
9. Unfold
10. Swept Away
11. Our Song

The xx – Coexist will be released on Friday 7 September 2012 via Young Turks / Remote Control

Leave a Reply