Menu ▲

LCD Soundsystem New Album Release Date And Tracklisting

Words by Scenewave Australia - Published on March 7, 2010

James Murphy has confirmed that the third LCD Soundsystem album is due to be released on May 17 in the UK through DFA/Parlophone. This is sure to be closely followed by the Australian release. The album is yet to be named although Murphy has revealed it does have a joke title, because he hasn’t had time to think of a proper name for it.

“There’s a little more guitar, there’s more synth on it.”

– James Murphy

“This record’s horrifying work title is ‘Internet Sensation!'”, Murphy explained to NME Radio host John Hilcock. “I was thinking, ‘What would a guy who’s been out of the music scene for a long time, and has kids [do to promote himself]?’. ‘We gotta be internet sensations, that’s what everyone is now!'”

Speaking about the sound of the album, Murphy said: “There’s a little more guitar, there’s more synth on it. There’s maybe more melodies.”


The album was recorded at a mansion in Los Angeles that was aptly named ‘The Manshun’. It was used by the band as a recording studio and homestead for the few months they were recording the album. Murphy has also released three video blogs whilst they were living there and recording the album.

Clip 1 – The Munshun

Clip 2 – The Studio

Clip 3 – The Haunted Mansion

Track List

  1. Dance Yrself Clean
  2. Drunk Girls
  3. One Touch
  4. All I Want
  5. Change
  6. You Wanted A Hit
  7. Pow Pow
  8. Somebody’s Calling Me
  9. What You Need

LCD Soundsystem – North American Scum

Posted in Music News

One response to “LCD Soundsystem New Album Release Date And Tracklisting”

  1. […] recording, however, Murphy created a three part vlog filmed in their ‘makeshift’ recording studio, dubbed ‘The Manshun’. […]

Leave a Reply